Publishers of books that change lives

Related Books

Transformation edited by Dr Tim Sharp

Life: A Guide

  • Life: A Guide, a new book by psychologist and author Andrew Fuller, explores this question: Have you ever wondered why some people seem glide through life relatively trouble free while others repeat the same damn patterns over and over again?

    When people said to you “ it’s just a stage of life” they were right. Andrew Fuller has spent the last ten years having conversations with over 10,000 people about their lives. The times of delights and opportunity and the times of turmoil and struggle share many similarities. In fact for many people these patterns fall into seven – year stages of life.

    The idea of the seven-year cycle is certainly not new. Almost every culture and spiritual tradition refers to this pattern. And yet, our modern world seems to have forgotten that there are patterns of life. Knowing what each stage of life involves – the opportunities that you will be presented with and the obstacles you will need to overcome – is like having a secret insight about how life works and how to make the best of each stage. It is like having a wise mentor whispering in your ear about the most important priorities.

    This book contains fascinating insights into how each stage develops and how to understand the people you know and love and the issues they are most likely dealing with. Most importantly it will help people to understand themselves more fully and compassionately.

    What are the seven-year stages?

    Ages 0 – 7: Early years – Feelings of security and attachment are developed.

    Ages 8 – 14: Childhood – The power of friendship, willpower and growing confidence are felt.

    Ages 15 – 21: Adolescence – A rollercoaster time of grief when the sense of belonging gained during childhood is sacrifi ced in order to develop a new identity.

    Ages 22 – 28: Aspiring adulthood – Adventures and new experiences. An often perplexing and anxious time of working out who we are and fi nding our life’s mission.

    Ages 29 – 35: The Napoleon years – The years in which we develop our talents, relationships and skills – and make a plan that we think might just work!

    Ages 36 – 42: Clinging to the wreckage – A period for some of optimism and contentment. Also a time of turmoil that often begins with expansion and exuberance but, unless we are careful, can end in exhaustion.

    Ages 43 – 49: Holding the tiger by the tail – A time of busyness, frenetic achievement and questioning.

    Ages 50 – 56: The agony and the ecstasy – A life and death struggle for a new identity occurs. More people enter therapy at this time of life than any other.

    Ages 57 – 63: Regeneration or degeneration? Consider being daring and adventurous. Creative activity can turn an older person into a younger person.

    Ages 64 – 70: Intimacy or invisibility? Ageing doesn’t have to mean growing old. A time to connect with others and love well.

    Ages 71 – 77: Dignity A time to play and to be respected.

    Ages 78 and beyond: Contentment and bitterness. The loss of some physical capacities may be inevitable, but mental skills are usually fine. Bodies wear out faster than brains.

     Life: A guide is also available in the following mini formats (eBook only):

    • Life: A guide The twenties
    • Life: A guide The thirties
    • Life: A guide The forties
    • Life: A guide The fifties
    • Life: A guide The sixties

    Finch Publishing titles are available in paperback or ebook in-store or on order from all good bookshops and online retailers nationwide. Please support your local bookshop.


    Share this book